I Rise by Marie Arnold

I Rise by Marie Arnold is a realistic fiction novel, nominated for the North Star Award, about almost fifteen year old Ayomide Bosia. Ayomide, or Ayo, has been raised in her mother’s civil rights organization for her entire life. Her mother created See Us when Ayo was born and their mission has been to bring about equality of all Black people in Harlem, New York City. Ayo has spent her life helping with protests against racial injustice but now she wants out. She wants to live like all her friends do and do all the things her friends do. but her mother is a force to be reckoned with and will not let Ayo opt out. As Ayo gets more and more frustrated, she begins skipping out on See Us events to spend time with Devonte, who she has a crush on. Her mother is furious with her when she finds out and they get into a huge argument. But as they both hurl painful words at each other, Ayo’s mom begins to realize that Ayo has had enough and can’t take it anymore. So Ayo’s mom lets her free. Ayo no longer has to participate in See Us. As Ayo adjusts to more free time and no more working, she spends more time with Devonte. One evening at Devonte’s house, they tune into the news coverage of a See Us protest and they watch as Ayo’s mom gets shot in the head. Ayo begins to spiral as her mom doesn’t wake up and everyone gets more and more agitated. Ayo knows that something needs to be done but she can’t bring herself to do it. She’s nowhere near as strong or courageous as her mother. But when it doesn’t look like her mother is going to wakeup anytime soon, can Ayo bring herself to step up?

I thought this was such an interesting book. I cannot personally relate to the experiences of the characters so it was such a new look at other people’s lives for me. I thought that the story was very well written and the characters felt very three dimensional. I wasn’t the hugest fan of the ending. I understand why Ayo made the decisions she did at the end but it was a little heartbreaking considering how much she was struggling in the beginning of the story. I also felt like Ayo’s experiences with her father were a bit rushed at the end and I would’ve liked to see more or see it slower.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is passionate about civil rights. It’s a deep story full of Black history that I think is an amazing read for anyone. The romance plot in I Rise isn’t overwhelming but is also a vital part of Ayo’s choices. Because of this, I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone who hates romance or to anyone whose main priority is romance. I Rise also feels suitable for most ages. It’s important for everyone to experience perspectives they cannot relate to and I Rise is one of them to me.

YA Realistic Fiction enjoyers will be delighted by what Marie Arnold has for them. I Rise is a wonderful story about how racism runs rampant even now and what it looks like for the youth. Anyone who is looking for a coming of age story about a young Black teen will love I Rise.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *